

Emergency Medical Services Task Force

December 17th, 2023 2:00 PM

Location: 5525 Emerald Ave, Mountain Iron, MN 55768

Meeting Minutes

Members Present:

Rep. John Huot, Co-Chair Sen. Judy Seeberger, Co-Chair

Rep. Jeff Backer Rep. Jeff Brand

Rep. Dave Lislegard

Sen. Grant Hauschild Rep. Natalie Zeleznikar

Members Absent:

Sen. Robert Kupec

Sen. Andrew Lang

Sen. Jordan Rasmusson

Rep. Tina Liebling, Ex-Officio

Sen. Melissa Wiklund, Ex-Officio

Call to Order:

Opening Remarks from the Co-Chairs and Task Force Members:

Both Co-Chairs and all members of EMS Task Force introduced themselves with a brief description of their background.

Public Testimony:

- Pete Hyduke, Mayor, City of Hibbing
- Glenn Anderson, Babbitt City Council
- · Erik Jankila, Fire Chief, City of Hibbing
- Randy Strohmeyer, Lake County Ambulance Service
- Dena Suihkonen, Tower Area Ambulance
- Michael Schultz, City of Tower
- Dave Setterberg, City of Tower, Mayor

- Buck McAlpin, MN Ambulance Association
- Lee Peterson, Greenwood Township
- Dr. John Bassing, Greenwood Township Board Chair
- Jim Theodore, Fire Chief, Clinton Township
- Erik Jonassen, Deputy Fire Chief, Virginia FD
- Jesse Buhs, Fire Chief, Cloquet Area Fire District
- Cal Saari, Fire Chief, City of Nashwauk, Mayor
- Glenn Anderson, City of Babbitt, City Council Member
- John Vance, Fire Chief, Minnetonka Fire Department, Representative of League of Minnesota Cities
- Jim Hofsommer, Colvin Township Supervisor
- Bruce Carlson, Colvin Township, Volunteer Fire Department
- Patti Banks, Ely, MN; Ely Bloomenson Community Hospital
- Colin Yahnke, Ely, MN hospital, Bloomenson Community Hospital
- Duane Johnson, St. Louis County, Sheriff's Office
- Karen Schultz, Cook County, Ambulance EMS
- Melanie Olmstead, Hoyt Lakes
- Larry A. Cuffe Jr., City of Virgina, Mayor
- Lance Hopke, Nashwauk, MN
- Joe Dasovich, Itasca County Sheriff
- Adam Lantz, City of Chisholm, Mayor
- Joseph Schulte, AFSCME Council 65
- Harley Droba, City of International Falls, Mayor
- Heidi Omerza, City of Ely, Mayor
- Rick Slatten, St. Louis County Rescue
- Josh Lassila, City of Floodwood
- Nikki Irving, Bois Fort Band of Chippewa
- Ketih Nelson, St. Louis County, Commissioner
- Rodger Skraba, Private Citizen
- Bob Sweeney, Private Citizen
- Kyle Tomchek, Private Citizen

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:23 PM.